New Year’s Eats and Treats

Don’t expect pictures of everything I make. . . I do like to take pictures, but the amount of free time I have is almost non-existent, especially with being back to work tomorrow (or should I say, with work being back to me since I run a childcare out of my home).  We are doing the 21 Day Sugar Detox. . . so all recipes have been adapted as needed for our specific levels (Daddy level 1, Mama level 3, Kiddo’s full GAPs.)

Image 2

Breakfast- Pumpkin Pancakes from Practical Paleo (pg 242) minus the maple syrup (sad!).  Recipe can also be found at Balanced Bites.  I wanted to use a whole can of Trader Joe’s Organic Pumpkin Puree, but that would have made 3.5 batches and required 14 eggs!  I decided to adapt. . . I used the full can of pumpkin, reduced eggs to 8, and added 3 TBS of coconut flour.  The rest of the recipe I left as is (but multiplied by 3.5).  We ended up with 22 cute, little pancakes. They were good. . . but reminded me of an unsweetened pumpkin custard.  I’m sure the kids would have enjoyed them more had I added some maple or honey to theirs.  I really missed the sweetness.  On the side, we enjoyed ground sausage with green cabbage.  I added a little butter after it was mostly done cooking.  Delicious!  Most of the kids ate 1 pancake and 2-3 servings of the cabbage sausage.  Next try, I’ll give them the pancakes with a bit of maple and see if that goes over better.  I still have several in the fridge to nibble on over the next couple of days.  I’m sure as the days go on, I won’t miss the sweetness as much.  (Practical Paleo is avaliable at most Costco stores, but the Amazon price is just as good, especially if you qualify for free shipping, this is a MUST have book.)

Half head green cabbage- $1.20

1 lb pork sausage (Grocery Outlet- pork & spices only) $2.79

Can of Organic Pumpkin (Trader Joe’s) $1.99

Eggs- Thanks Chickens!

Other ingredients (including butter for frying)- $2.00

Breakfast for 7- $7.98 (add $2-3 if you buy your eggs)

Image 5

Image 1

Lunch- I was making some yummy for the tummy, Italian Herb Crackers from Paleo Indulgences (pg 106).  Once I had the batch out of the oven, I took Daddy Grok a couple of the warm crackers with a bit of Aidell’s sundried tomato salami and a sprinkle of aged cheddar. It was a delicious and adorable little appetizer.

Well, we were ready for lunch about that time, so I decided to mix up another (double) batch of the crackers.  I modified it a bit as I didn’t have quite enough almond flour, so I used a bit more coconut flour.  I also added an extra egg and used olive oil instead of coconut.  After 6 minutes of baking, I brushed olive oil over the top, sprinkled on some sea salt.  The I topped the “crust” with Aidell’s sundried tomato salami and aged cheddar cheese.  I returned the whole thing to the oven for another 5 minutes, cut into squares and enjoyed.  All the kids liked their “pizza”.  For the crackers, I also brushed them with olive oil and sprinkled with sea salt before returning them to the oven for the second baking time.

I used 1/2 cup + 2 Tbs coconut flour and 1/2 cup almond flour. Approx $2.00.

Aidell’s Sundried Tomato Salami (found at Grocery Outlet for $6.99), 1/4 LARGE pkg- $1.75

1 cup grated aged cheddar $2.00

1/3 tub Organic mixed lettuces $1.33

“ranch” dip on the side $1.00

Lunch for 7- $8.08 (someone nibbled the last couple squares, so no left overs)

Image 4

Dinner- Taco Salad, carne asada style.  Daddy Grok wanted taco salad.  Mama Grok wanted steak.  Compromise is key to life.  Here we’ve topped a bed of organic mixed lettuces with seasoned carne asada, olives, avocado, and a smattering of cheese.  Served along side, we had salsa & sour cream.  Several of the kids ate it separated but still enjoyed all the components.

Carne Asada (thin sliced)- $7.00 (family package 2lbs)

Organic mixed salad 1/3 large tub $1.33  (3 of us had about 2 cups each, the other kids had about 1 cup each)

1/2 lb grated aged cheddar $1.75

1 can olives $1.29

1/2 avocado $.44

Salsa & Sour Cream (1/4 container each) $1.25

Dinner for 7- $13.06

Daily total for 7 people (2 adults, 5 children) = $29.12 or $4.16 each.  For grain free, real food, lots of organics & healthy fats. 

Today snacking was minimal.  Usually my children come running for a mid morning snack and a mid afternoon snack.  Nothing. . . until a couple kids asked for a piece of fruit post dinner.  Normally, I offer fruit or veggies with protein for snack, but 5 kids x 2 snacks a day adds up quick.  I would love it if their snacking decreases!

I did make a batch of what I fondly call “energy balls” today and we nibbled on them after our Grok Walk.  However, most of the kids didn’t like them.  I should have added a touch of honey for the kids and then I’m sure they would have gobbled them up.  I used almond butter, unsweetened small shredded coconut, vanilla extract, and cocoa powder.  Mix. Roll into balls. Freeze.  Eat.  I liked it but didn’t love it. . . definitely a bit “bitter chocolate” taste.  Honey would probably make them perfect.  I got the idea from The Food Lover’s Primal Palate.  I didn’t use measurements. . . just dumped, mixed, & tasted until the consistency was right.  This treat was about $2.50 to make but we still have half of it in the freezer.

Because I was out of heavy cream this morning. . . I am just now sipping my first cup of coffee for the day.  Amazingly, I’ve enjoyed nearly the whole cup of Trader Joe’s Organic Wake Up Blend with heavy cream only.  Since sweet coffee is my drug of choice, this is AMAZING.  (Go me!)

** NOTE- I’m THRILLED at our daily total today!  If I can stay around this amount, we are looking at $900/month to feed our family of 7 super healthy, grain free foods!  Rock on!  I do have to buy daycare food as well. .  . but with good sale shopping, I should be able to get their dead milk, crackers, bread, etc. . . for reasonable prices (USDA requires that I feed this stuff to the daycare, S.A.D.).  We will see how packed lunches impact our daily total when school resumes next week.

Leave a Reply

