Grok Approved Bacon Burgers!

I remember seeing 50/50 Bacon Burgers in my Eat Like a Dinosaur Cookbook. . . that memory sparked tonight’s dinner.  I didn’t look at the recipe in the book, but I can’t imagine mine is that different.

Image 15

I used 1/2 package (about 1 lb) Beelers uncured bacon ends & pieces ($6.99 for 2lbs) + 1 lb organic ground beef ($4.99). I put the bacon in the food processor until it was all crumbled (raw).  Then I mixed it with the hamburger; added salt, pepper, & Bragg’s seasoning blend.  This made 6 patties that looked large before cooking, but decreased in size dramatically after cooking. . . if all my kids were home, I would have added 1 lb of ground chicken ($1.49).   I placed the burgers on a broiler pan and cooked in the oven at 400F for about 30 minutes (until cooked through).  We served them with a triangle of provolone cheese ($1.50), organic carrot sticks, & organic salad ($2.00).   Mama Grok added 1/4 of an avocado as well ($.22).  All together, this yum-o dinner was $12.22 for 5 of us, if the rest of the crew joined us tonight, it would have been closer to $14.00.

*I buy organic carrots at Trader Joe’s for $.79/lb and I buy organic salad mixes at either Costco, Grocery Outlet, or the grocers (on sale) for $3.99-$4.40/tub.  One tub will cover 3 meals of salads 1-2 cups in size (depending on age of consumer).

Leave a Reply

