100 Days of Real Food – Day 11

Image 5

First up: Dinner tonight. . . Oh Yum!  We cleaned up every last bit of this tonight.  I prepared thin cut (carne asada) steaks, cabbage, carrots, mushrooms, and Asian salad. . . then we wet rice paper wrappers, filled them up and enjoyed.  The kids love these make your own meals.  It is a lot of prep work for Mama, but since everyone loves it, that’s ok. I put the carrots into the food processor, then fried for a minute in butter on the stove top. . . cabbage was chopped and cooked in butter until tender, ditto mushrooms.  The salad was torn up into bowls and topped with a dressing made of wheat free Tamari (coconut aminos would be a good option), olive oil, rice vinegar, & red pepper.   I realize the wrappers are made of rice and therefore a carb. . . if I ate 7 wrappers (as if), the carb load was 59 grams.  We all ate 2-3 wraps filled with lots of veggies and some meat.  Everything was drizzled in raw, heart healthy extra virgin olive oil.

Image 4

Snack for the kids this afternoon:  sliced organic pears & apples with a nut butter dip.  I made this with fresh ground peanut butter + a bit of honey + cinnamon + a dash of vanilla = yummy.

Image 3

Last night, I made this cake (banana blueberry cake) as a trial run for a friend who was considering the recipe for her daughters first birthday.  I modified the recipe and made it almost grain free.   Here’s what I changed from the original recipe:  I subbed almond flour in a 1:1 ratio for the whole wheat flour, I subbed 1/2 coconut flour and 1/2 starch for the white flour.  I used certified gluten free oats.  I skipped the blueberries because I didn’t have any on hand but I did throw in a few Enjoy Life mini chocolate chips.  I think it would be delicious with blueberries.  It resembled a muffin, not at all sweet but tasty and tender.  With a slightly sweet frosting, it would pass for a cake just fine.  Here I enjoyed it warm with butter on top for breakfast. 🙂

Image 2

Dinner last night: chicken drumsticks in extra virgin olive oil & Braggs seasoning blend, salad, cucumber, & snap peas alongside buttered baby reds.

Image 1

On the baby front: This book arrived in the mail today.  Yay!  I wasn’t sure why it was taking so long to arrive when I realized I had pre-ordered it *giggle, pregnancy brain*.  Anyway, today it showed up and I was thrilled.  I already finished Wheat Belly and passed it on to family to read, so I will start in on this one tonight.

Another grokery lesson: I asked Daddy to stop at the store to pick up 1 head of organic lettuce (since I never received the two that I ordered last week) and 1 head of purple cabbage to use in dinner tonight ($5.00).  He also bought me flowers. . . guess I really can’t be mad at him for going out of budget and bringing home flowers to his wifey. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

