The Plan & Day 48

Really. . . today is day 48.  I’m a slacker.  I also haven’t done great budget wise (as in I didn’t keep track).  A new month is around the bend and I vow to pull my grocery money out and NOT use my debit card.  That way I have more accountability.

I am getting better at soaking grains and prepping other nourishing foods.  Today, I made BUTTER from our raw, grassfed milk.  Talk about yummy, yellow, beautiful butter!

Image Image 1 Image 2

As you can see, we had nearly 3 cups of cream which we shaved off the top of 1 gallon of milk.  In the end, I got 1/4lb of cultured butter and a pint of buttermilk.  I cultured the cream overnight on the counter with a dollop of plain yogurt so that we would get lots of beneficial enzymes into our finished project.  Once the cream cultured overnight, I placed it in the fridge for about 5 hours to halt the culturing process. During that time, I also placed the bowl of my Kitchen Aid mixer into the freezer so it’d be nice and cool for the preparation.  Technically, you should warm the cream back up to room temp prior to pouring it into the cold mixing bowl, but I skipped that step.  I turned the mixer on as high as I could without splattering the precious cream everywhere.  Then I add some Himalayan pink salt.  I processed the cream until it was thick and chunky.  Then I poured it through a fine mesh strainer to separate the buttermilk.  I used a large spoon to help press the excess liquid from the butter.  Then I placed the butter ball into a couple of coffee filters (cheesecloth would have been best) and pressed some more until all the liquid was out.  I then placed it into the mesh strainer again and poured filtered water over the butter and repeating my pressing/squeezing until I had a beautiful, yellow, mound of pure cultured butter.  I wrapped my finished product in parchment and placed it in the fridge to be used at will (after taste testing, of course!).

In addition to the butter, I started a batch of buckwheat sourdough starter and a 1/2 gallon of Raw milk kefir (we had excess and today was fresh milk day!).  Go Mama Grok!

Image 3

This weeks produce haul. . . I was too tired to remove it from the box for a photo. . . let’s just say it’s gorgeous and included a watermelon, pineapple, mushrooms. . . and so much more.  I spent $50 ($5 of which was donation). . . once again, all organic.  Delish!

Image 2 Image 1 Image

We are starting on the Trim Healthy Mama plan (THM).  The book was written for women, but the principles work for both genders.  The plan does allow certain grains (soaked or properly prepared are preferred).  I will share more about this plan in the coming days. . . right now, I’m figuring out how it works best for us. Here’s some of the meals we’ve enjoyed:  Fried egg whites with soaked steel cut oats and frozen cherries (Mama), Fried egg whites with sprouted (flourless) toast and apple slices for Daddy, a lovely dinner for everyone of buttered shrimp, salad, and grain free cheese “balls”.

And with that, I bid you good-night!

6 thoughts on “The Plan & Day 48

  1. Hey! I found your blog via the Wholesome Family Farm facebook page. You are doing a great job! We are newly local to the area and I was wondering if you could give me information about the veggie boxes and meat you are purchasing. Specifically, who you are ordering them through? Right now meat and veggies are the mos expensive part of our food budget and I would love to get my hands on some more affordable food if possible. Thanks!

  2. Hey! I found your blog via the wholesome family farm facebook page. You are doing a great job feeding your family! I am so impressed with the budget you are managing to keep. I am local to Eugene and I was wondering if you could tell me more about the buying co-op you are ordering your meat and veggies through. Shopping for vegetables at Market of Choice is becoming astronomical, but I am committed to organic. I would love to find a more budget friendly option for my family. Thanks!

    • Hi Eileen, shoot me an email at polkadotmommy (at) gmail (dot) com and I will help you get connected with our local group. 🙂 I agree, MoC is PRICEY. . . I usually spend more of our budget there than anywhere and it’s a killer! Trader Joe’s is also a great place for organic apples, celery, carrots, salads, kale, spinach, etc. . . and where I usually buy all of our nuts.

Leave a Reply

